In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Any jetty fishing advice?

NeoBlackdogNeoBlackdog Member Posts: 16,677 ✭✭✭✭
edited June 2014 in The Fishing Hole!
My wife and I are going on a little camping/fishing excursion on the southern Oregon coast the first week of September and I'd like to stop and fish along the jetty's. In the past I've fished 'em when the salmon were running and had good luck pitching a herring beneath a bobber. Any advice on catching the bottom fish, lingcod, cabezon, etc.?

Comments

• Options
    317wc317wc Member Posts: 924 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    What type of gear will you be taking with you? I have never fished from a jetty/pier specifically, but I have several years experience saltwater fishing.

Personally, I've always had good luck with metal jigs, large Kast-Masters, and other such as rubber octopus rigs or large rubber curly-tail worms. I've almost always had good luck with white or hot pink. Make sure you use a beefy enough swivel for the size of fish you will encounter.

I've actually never really used bait except for halibut fishing and we mainly used salmon belly.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    We'll have an assortment of rods/reel combos. I'm thinkin' the ones we'll likely use most will be 8 1/2' medium action spinning rods loaded with 20lb Spiderwire braid. I guess what I need most is good advice on the terminal tackle for bait fishing and what types of bait seem to work best.
  • Options
    1BigGuy1BigGuy Member Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I've seen clam necks (which are real tough and stay on your hook) and sand shrimp (which aren't and don't) both used effectively in Washington. The hardest part for me is keeping the bait/lure out of the rocks of the jetty and getting snagged and lost; especially for bottom fish.
  • Options