In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Serve in the 1st Bn. 3rd Marines?

BHAVINBHAVIN Member Posts: 3,490 ✭✭
edited May 2008 in US Military Veteran Forum
Anyone here serve in Vietnam in the 1st Bn. 3rd Marines? Or have a family member that did. Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    br549br549 Member Posts: 1,024
    edited November -1
    had a friend with 1st Bn. A company 3rd marines during tet he was from Ga. last i heard he was in south dakota
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Thank you. The reason I ask is that I have been holding a memento for over 28 years that I would like to pass on to a Marine from the 1st Bn. 3rd. When I was 8 we went to a a yard sale on the 4th of July. They were just closing up and were going to throw out some things. I saw a lighter and I decided to look at it closer. It has had a hard life and wasn't in the best of shape but I new I had to get it. The guy at the yard sale decided to sell it to me if I could talk my mom into it. Mom asked me why I wanted it and I told her that it was a special item of a MARINE and I couldn't let them just throw it away. The guy I bought it from said his wife collected lighters and had no idea where it came from. The brand is a Vulcan and the lid has been replaced. The finish is worn. The inside lighter is a ZIPPO. The inside cotton and wick are gone (demilled as my dad did not want me to be a Fire Bug). It has a red shield that says Vietnam on it and it white scroll "1ST. Bn 3rd MARINES" on the top of the shield and on the bottom of the shield in scroll "HOME OF THE BRAVE". On the back is engraved a quote I have often seen "FOR THOSE WHO FIGHT FOR IT LIFE HAS A FLAVOR THE PROTECTED WILL NEVER KNOW". I have held onto this lighter for a long time with the idea of giving it to a Marine from the 1st of the 3rd someday. I have not run into one ye