In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

just a girl

gagirlgagirl Member Posts: 5,408
Hey guys I am new to the bow hunting side of things. I have considered the Barnett Revolution crossbow, I know shudders and shivers from the real hunters who dont use crossbows. Well guys as I am 5'8 and 120 soaking wet, it is not like I have big arms so the crossbow is appealing to me. However if I am thinking wrong, which is very possible, please advise. I am thinking that it would be easier to start with a crossbow. Am I on the right tract?

Comments

• Options
    fishermanbenfishermanben Member Posts: 15,370
    edited November -1
    I know nothing about crossbow hunting, but I can tell you that you are probably much stronger than I was when I started bow hunting. You should, with fairly minimal training, be able to shoot a 40-50lb bow comfortably. You just have to practice and build your back and shoulder muscles up a little(unless you already have some hoss pipes hidden in that 120lb body). Also, with a compound bow, you are only holding 40-20% of the total draw weight when you are at full draw. For example, if you are shooting a 50lb draw weight with 80% let-off, you are only holding 10lb at full draw. Make Sense[?]

I think that if you want to hunt with a bow, you should do it right. It will not be as easy to become proficient as using a cross bow probably is, but you will be able to sneer at all the boys that use 'scoped guns' to hunt deer with. What a bunch of wusses. It is not speed or power that will harvest deer, it is knowing the limits of your bow and your abilities, and most importantly, shot placement.

I hope that answers your question.[:D]

Ben
  • Options
    edited November -1